Reviews

Our stay at the Old Hall Hotel - Rating 4/5

Loved our stay at this quaint traditional hotel. Room was clean, bed comfortable, staff friendly and courteous and breakfast delicious. Loved the open fire and the local ale. Would certainly stay here again . Many thanks.

Reviewer:PATRICIA BOTT | Mon 30th Oct 2017


Nice dog friendly hotel - Rating 4/5

A pleasant hotel of character handy for Chester and the Wirral. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms very clean with powerful showers. We had 3 rooms, one at the front of the hotel, one at the back and one in the annex, where pets are allowed. All 3 were individual and all, including the annex , had tv and coffee and tea. Free wi-fi is available but my device could not find it. Would recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. James Carten | Sun 5th Jun 2016


Excellent but for the internet - Rating 4/5

This was my second visit to what is a very good hotel. The rooms are clean and warm, the breakfast is the best I have had anywhere, and the welcome is warm and friendly. However the town is in a 4G black spot so a good wi-fi connection is essential. Sadly it is monumentally slow and drops out every few seconds. But for that it would be an excellent hotel. So for now 4 stars

Reviewer:Mr. Jeff Smith | Wed 1st Jun 2016


Timeless Classic - Rating 4/5

I last stayed here 25 years ago. Still the same standards of food and Service, Very good..

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Attwood | Wed 18th May 2016


A pleasent distant memory reconfirmed - Rating 5/5

In the last 6 weeks I have visited the Runcorn area 4 times. My previous visits to other big chain hotels were on average OK. On my fourth visit, I remembered staying in a hotel called the \'The Old Hall\' in Frodsham about 25 to 30 years ago &remembered it being pretty good. I booked a room at about 80% the price of the other hotels but this time breakfast was included in the price, so really about 75% of the price of the other hotels.My room was much bigger than the other 3 hotels that I had stayed in my previous visits. The bathroom alone was about the same size as the bedroom of my previous hotel. There was a bath &a shower. My room (number 23) had a big comfortable bed, a large leather settee, gigantic flat screen TV, Tea &Coffee &free internet (which did not require a PhD in IT to get connected). Everything was very, very clean. The lady that checked me in was very friendly. Every time I visited reception I got perfect service. Upon leaving my room in the morning, I got a big friendly smile from the chamber maid who gave me directions, how to leave.The hotel was built in the 16th century and perhaps some might think in a bit of a time warp. For me this is charming. When you check in, you sign \'The Visitors Book\' &not asked to sign some computer printed form. I did not eat in this hotel as I love Indian food and 30 seconds walk away was an Indian restaurant with very good reviews. There are about 12 other restaurants/bars within minutes walk of this hotel. For me, this is a good old fashioned hotel run in an old fashioned way with people that really care, instead of robotic staff with artificial plastic smiles who are programed to say \'Enjoy your day\'.On my next visit, I will be staying here again &advise my customer that their other visitors would probably enjoy this hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Burrage | Fri 8th Apr 2016


Two night stay in Frodsham, Main Street - Rating 4/5

Very nice hotel and excellent food.lovely welcoming staff. (Didn\'t like pillows.)Highly recommend.

Reviewer:Ms. Sarah de Freitas | Sun 27th Dec 2015


The Old Hall Hotel. - Rating 4/5

A very friendly welcome, we enjoyed our stay at the very atmospheric and comfortable, quaint, old style hotel

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Dr. Rex Pearlman | Sat 19th Dec 2015


An enjoyable experience - Rating 5/5

Very new to this hotel;and I have already booked to go back! What more can I say?

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Edward John Fulton | Fri 18th Dec 2015


Weekend away - Rating 5/5

We had a great weekend away.The Hotel was fantastic.The staff were friendly and our room was clean and great.

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. julie hayton | Mon 30th Nov 2015


good service - Rating 5/5

Although du to circumstances beyond their control(boiler failure) I did not stay there but the Hotel kindly sorted an alternative hotel for me and paid the difference in price!

Reviewer:Mr. Kelvin Callaghan-Bates | Thu 26th Nov 2015


one night b And b- Rating 5/5

Great service and lovely staff! Enjoyed morning coffee in cosy lounge. Our room was spacious and attractive and the en-suite positively palatial ! Excellent breakfast too. Can heartily recommend this hotel.

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan Lock | Mon 26th Oct 2015


Always Good - Rating 4/5

Stayed several times,love the old world charm and quiet calm atmosphere.Both the evening meal and breakfast were good.Maybe not for anyone who prefers bland faceless modern hotel chains but I wouldn\'t stop anywhere else.

Reviewer:Mr. Lee Egerton | Sun 30th Aug 2015


A joy - Rating 4/5

A colleague and I stayed with you based upon a booking I made by \"gut feeling\"I was right, our rooms were comfortable, or food very good and the staff a real joy, helpful, friendly and very efficient. And very kind of you to allow me to leave my car with you until Thursday

Reviewer:Mr. Barry Pearson | Mon 22nd Jun 2015


Cosy hotel - Rating 4/5

++ Very nice hotel with good ambience and friendly staff.-- Shower/waterheater not really adjustable (room 22) - either cold or boiling hot

Reviewer:Mr. Ole N├Şrregaard Jensen | Wed 3rd Jun 2015


One of the most charming hotels ever - Rating 5/5

The Old Hall is a fantastic location. The site offers great food, great local and historic setting. You may loose a few of the amenities of a larger hotel but it\'s wort it for the pure charm.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher Husiak | Tue 19th May 2015


Comfortable - Rating 4/5

I had a large room which was clean and comfortable, if a little chilly. The bar food was excellent, as was the breakfast. I would definetely stay here again.

Reviewer:Miss. Linda Ranford | Mon 27th Apr 2015


trip to Frodsham - Rating 4/5

very clean good atmosphere. Helpful staff.

Reviewer:Mr. RICHARD GORE | Wed 25th Feb 2015


Pleasant overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Room spacious and elegant with satisfactory bathroom en suite, in old part of the hotel (recommended) and most staff friendly.We have stayed at The Old Hall before and enjoyed it. Nice welcoming open fire downstairs on a cold February day. Evening meal this time too - well prepared, tasty and good service. Breakfast also very good. Minor quibble:at check-out mentioned that the second shower (mine!) ran cold and that thick dust &cobwebs nestled on old bathroom ceiling beam only really visible when standing in the bath/shower. Duty receptionist only mildly interested and not apologetic so next occupant of Room 5 will no doubt find the same. I will check next visit!

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Morgan | Fri 20th Feb 2015


Valentine weekend - Rating 4/5

Booked last minute via online system on arrival was told that the hotel was full, but this was very quickly rectified by the friendly reception staff.Our room was very clean and my only complaint if I could find any is that the boiler was a little noisy but other than that, the bed was extremely comfortable and extra pillows were provided.We had the Valentine\'s Day meal in the restaurant which I can only describe as amazing, extremely tasty and well cooked, as was the breakfast the following day, I found the staff to be friendly and courteous, the hotel is close to Cheshire oaks and Chester, we had a great weekend, thanks.

Reviewer:Mrs. Liza Nicholls | Mon 16th Feb 2015


Nice friendly Hotel - Rating 4/5

Stayed here two nights this week. Friendly staff and lovely log fire !

Reviewer:Mr. Steve Sealey | Mon 29th Dec 2014


Nice short break - Rating 4/5

Comfy bed and lovely breakfast! Our bar meal was very good too ­čśŐFriendly staff. Cosy and festively decorated.­čÄäEnjoyed our 2 night stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Norman Butter | Wed 3rd Dec 2014


Welcoming, warm haven. - Rating 5/5

Set in a convenient spot in the town of Frodsham, the hotel is easy to find again as it is set on the main road, near all you would need. I enjoyed the roasting fire and good bar food, as well as my comfortable room. Staff were welcoming. All in all this gave me a great place to rest en route, and I will use it again when I am up this way.

Reviewer:Ms. Maura Cowen | Thu 20th Nov 2014


Friendly, homely and quaint - Rating 4/5

This hotel has a nice atmosphere and the staff are helpful. The disabled parking is a bit of a hike away, there is no safe available for valuables and the early morning call did not materialise but the room and bed were extremely comfortable and the restaurant, perfectly adequate with a good menu. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Deanna Greig Smith | Mon 10th Nov 2014


Very Good- Rating 4/5

Good value for the standard of accommodation.Would stay again

Reviewer:Mr. Martin Jones | Fri 12th Sep 2014


Olde World Charm - Rating 4/5

I am a regular visitor to The Old Hall in Frodsham and am happy to return again in the future. OK, the place isn't the plushest hotel in the world, but I happen to like rustic charm, squeeky floorboards, irregular shaped rooms and the odd beam here and there. The bar area is cosy serving a good array of beers and wines, plus the food in the restaurant is of a high quality. Don't forget to have the breakfast. For quality and the variety on offer, one of the best. It will certainly keep even the mightiest appetite going for hours. All in all, my first choice when I am staying in the Runcorn area.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve Crelling | Sat 6th Sep 2014


Lovely Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

The Old Hall hotel is full of character. We stayed in the main part of the hotel. The room was clean and just what we needed as we were in Frodsham for a wedding.Breakfast was very good and plentiful, please do not take this as a criticism as we didn't realise at first that there was fruit juice, cereals etc in the other room may be the waitress could mention this to guests.

Reviewer:Mrs. Geraldine Frost | Sat 5th Jul 2014


Swiss Boilers - Rating 5/5

Perfect staying . thank you for your friendly support to us two bikers

Reviewer:Mr. Stefan Tschopp | Fri 30th May 2014


may visit - Rating 5/5

easy to find hotel - good room and comfy bed, nice to have individually cooked breakfast in morning. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Hugh Williams | Fri 9th May 2014


One of the best stays of my life - Rating 5/5

I had the option to stay at the holiday inn and was advised to stay at the Old Hall. It was some of the best advise I've ever had. It's a charming English Inn with comfotable beds and one of the most polite staffs I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with. The food is exceptional!! If you looking for an ultra modern hotel this is not it. If you want a stay with character and great service and top notch food this is the place for. To top it off Frodsham is a fantastic little town!I will be back again.

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher Husiak | Fri 21st Mar 2014


LETJOG - Rating 5/5

After cycling 70 miles in pouring rain The Old Hall was the perfect place to come to! The hotel was lovely and the rooms were large warm and very comfertable. The evening meal was great. We were looked after very well and our bikes were kept safe and dry ready for the next stage!We would definately return if in the area again

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Beaumont | Mon 14th Oct 2013


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely room, excellent meal and friendly staff.

Reviewer:Mrs. Vicky Allsop | Mon 12th Aug 2013


brilliant - Rating 5/5

Good hotel, friendly stuff, suitable room, fine weather, fine food (espeĐüialy porridge). It will be better if there will be a freezer in the room.

Reviewer:Mr. Krasnov Andrey | Mon 10th Jun 2013


stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent staff &service, really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Holland | Sun 9th Jun 2013


Good Accommodation - Rating 4/5

Good food, comfortable room and friendly service.Overall very pleasant experience.

Reviewer:Mr. William Smith | Tue 4th Jun 2013


Highly recommended! - Rating 5/5

a lovely friendly hotel with lots of charm and character. Plenty of secure parking available and in and ideal location for local amenities. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly return

Response

Thank you for your comments

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Armstrong | Mon 29th Apr 2013


5 star status - Rating 5/5

an excelent old world hotel, retaining much of its original features,very clean roomstaff very helpful, great food.

Response

Thank you for your review Mr Lange, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Lange | Fri 16th Sep 2011


Contact

The Old Hall Hotel
Main St
Frodsham
Cheshire
WA6 7AB

Tel: 01928 732052
Fax: 01928 739046
info@oldhallhotelfrodsham.co.uk

Hotel Facilities

  • Pet Friendly
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Laundry
  • Family Rooms
  • Ironing Service
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • Walking Holidays